Еженедельные обзоры

Итоги недели 13.05.-19.05.2019

Рынок продолжает следить за развитием торгового конфликта между США и Китаем

1.    Смягчение риторики США и Китая

2.    Доллар восстанавливает свои позиции

3.    В Великобритании нарастает политический кризис

4.    Нефть растет на фоне обострения ситуации на Ближнем Востоке


Тема торговых взаимоотношений между США и Китаем оставалась в центре внимания инвесторов практически на протяжении всей торговой недели. В понедельник официальный Вашингтон и Пекин обменяли угрозами повышения пошлин на импорт друг друга, оказав существенное давление на основные фондовые индексы. Американский Nasdaq показал самое сильное внутридневное снижение с начала текущего года. Но, уже во вторник и Белый Дом, и власти Китая сменили гнев на милость, отметив, что они по-прежнему заинтересованы в деэскалации конфликта и продолжении торговых переговоров. Эти заявления придали хороший бычий импульс движения основным фондовым индексам, и значительно ослабили интерес инвесторов к защитным активам, таким как золото, японская иена и швейцарский франк, которые на протяжении всей недели оставались под давлением.


Валютный рынок

На валютном рынке вновь наметилась тенденция на укрепления американской валюты, хотя в середине недели доллар мог оказаться под достаточно сильным прессингом, после публикации слабых данных по розничным продажам в США. Неожиданно для многих инвесторов данные оказались значительно хуже прогнозных значений, на фоне которых ФРБ Атланты пересмотрел свой прогноз по темпам роста ВВП США на 2-й квартал с 1,6% до 1,1%. Спасти ситуацию помогли позитивные статистические отчеты, опубликованные в четверг, а также ослабление других валют G7, что способствовало росту индекса доллара.

Наиболее сильный бычий импульс индекс доллара получил от ослабления европейской и британской валют, которые во второй половине недели оказались под сильным прессингом. Давление оказали заявления об отставке правительства Терезы Мэй. Ранее Мэй неоднократно заявляла, что намерена покинуть свой пост после ратификации соглашения по выходу Великобритании из ЕС, но на фоне неудач в переговорах с лейбористами и давления со стороны однопартийцев в четверг Мэй заявила о том, что она уйдет в отставку после очередного голосования в парламенте, запланированного на начало июня. При этом Мэй покинет свой пост не зависимо от исходов этого голосования.

Практически сразу после этого лейбористы заявили о фактической прекращении межпартийных переговоров с правительством, которое находится на грани краха, что фактически означает очередной провал плана Мэй на парламентском голосовании и дальнейшее усугубление политического кризиса в стране. При этом многие инвесторы опасаются, что на смену Мэй консерваторы могут выдвинуть кандидатуру поддерживающую жесткий сценарий выхода из ЕС, что может повлечь за собой серьезные экономические потери как для Великобритании, так и для Евросоюза.

На этом фоне пара GBP/USD к пятнице опустилась до минимальных значений с середины января текущего года и может продолжить снижение к новым многомесячным минимумам.

Европейская валюта так же торгуется со снижением и постепенно сдает свои позиции доллару.

Пара USD/JPY практически всю пятидневку торговалась на уровне открытия торговой недели. Рост доллара и основных фондовых индексов остановили сильный медвежий тренд, который мы наблюдали неделей ранее.


Рынок драгметаллов.

Золото на неделе продемонстрировало очень волатильные торги, на фоне развития ситуации в мировой торговле. В понедельник котировки золото выросли более чем на 1% после взаимных угроз США и Китая. Во вторник ситуация кардинально изменилась. Обе стороны продемонстрировали желание на деэскалацию конфликта в результате чего спрос на защитные активы начал резко снижаться, в результате чего золото вернулась к уровням открытия торговой недели. Существенное давление на цену также оказал американский доллар, который значительно упрочил свои позиции на рынке во второй половине недели.  


Рынок нефти

Нефтяной рынок формировал преимущественно восходящий вектор движения после незначительного снижения  котировок в понедельник. Драйвером роста стала эскалация ситуации на Ближнем Востоке. В воскресенье стало известно о вооруженном нападении на два саудовский нефтяных танкера, а в понедельник Саудовская Аравия сообщила об ударе беспилотниками по одному из нефтепроводов, который в целях безопасности был перекрыт. Эр-Рияд и Вашингтон обвинили в этих нападениях Иран, против которого в начале мая Соединенные Штаты ужесточили санкции. Инвесторы опасаются, что дальнейшее нарастание конфликта в этом регионе может привести к существенным перебоям в поставках энергоносителей на мировые рынки.  


Фондовый рынок

Фондовые площадки на неделе продемонстрировали достаточно волатильные торги, остро реагируя на новости связанные с мировой торговлей. В понедельник американские индексы показали самое сильное внутридневное снижение с начала года, после обострения торговых противоречий между США и Китаем. Во вторник рынок развернулся на 180° на фоне смягчения риторики с обеих сторон. В результате в течении недели основные индексы смогли отыграть потери понесенные в понедельник.

Weekly reviews

Weekly Results 13.05.-19.05.2019

Market continues to monitor the development of trade conflict between the U.S. and China

1.    Mitigation of US and Chinese rhetoric

2.    Dollar recovers its positions

3.    The political crisis in the UK is growing

4.    Oil is growing against the backdrop of the deteriorating situation in the Middle East


The topic of trade relations between the U.S. and China remained in the investors’ focus of attention throughout the trading week. On Monday, official Washington and Beijing exchanged threats to increase import duties on each other, exerting significant pressure on major stock indices. American Nasdaq showed the strongest intraday decline since the beginning of this year. But on Tuesday, both the White House and Chinese authorities changed their anger to mercy, noting that they are still interested in de-escalation of the conflict and continuation of trade negotiations. These statements gave a good bullish impulse to the major stock indices and significantly weakened investors' interest in protective assets such as gold, Japanese yen and Swiss franc, which remained under pressure throughout the week.


Currency market

The foreign exchange market is once again showing a trend towards strengthening of the US currency, although in the middle of the week the US dollar may have gotten under a fairly strong pressure after the publication of weak data on retail sales in the US. Unexpectedly for many investors the data turned out to be much worse than the forecasted values, against which the Atlanta Federal Reserve revised its forecast on the growth rates of the U.S. GDP for the 2nd quarter from 1.6% to 1.1%. Positive statistical reports published on Thursday, as well as weakening of other G7 currencies, helped to save the situation, which contributed to the growth of the dollar index.

The strongest bullish impulse for the dollar index was the weakening of the European and British currencies, which were under strong pressure in the second half of the week. Pressure was exerted by the resignation of Theresa May's government. Earlier May repeatedly stated that she intends to resign after the ratification of the agreement on the UK's exit from the EU, but, against the background of failures in negotiations with Labour and pressure from fellow party members, on Thursday May announced that she will resign after another vote in Parliament, scheduled for early June. May will resign, however, regardless of the outcome of the vote.

Almost immediately thereafter, Labour announced the virtual cessation of inter-party negotiations with the on-the-verge-of-collapse government, which means another failure of May's plan in the parliamentary vote and further aggravation of the political crisis in the country. At the same time, many investors are afraid that May may be replaced by conservatives who may nominate a candidate to support a rigid Brexit scenario, which may entail serious economic losses for both the UK and the European Union.

Against this background, by Friday the pair GBP/USD fell to its lowest level since mid-January this year and may continue to decline to new multi-month lows.

The European currency also trades with a decline and gradually loses its position to the dollar.

The pair USD/JPY was traded at the level of the trading week opening for almost the entire five-day period. The dollar and major stock indices growth stopped a strong bearish trend, which we observed a week earlier.


Precious metals market

Gold demonstrated very volatile trading during the week, against the background of the situation in the world trade. On Monday, gold quotations grew by more than 1% after mutual threats of the USA and China. On Tuesday, the situation changed dramatically. Both sides showed a desire for de-escalation of the conflict as a result of which the demand for protective assets began to decline sharply and gold returned to the opening levels of the trading week. Significant pressure on the price was also put by the U.S. dollar, which significantly strengthened its market position in the second half of the week.  


Oil market

The oil market was mainly forming an ascending vector of movement after a slight decrease in quotations on Monday. The growth driver was the Middle East situation escalation. On Sunday an armed attack on two Saudi oil tankers was reported, and on Monday Saudi Arabia reported a drone strike on one of the oil pipelines, which was closed for security purposes. Riyadh and Washington accused Iran of these attacks, sanctions against which were  tightened by the United States in early May. Investors fear that further escalation of conflict in the region could lead to significant disruptions in energy supplies to world markets.


Stock market

The stock markets demonstrated rather volatile trading during the week in a strong reaction to the news related to the world trade. On Monday, the U.S. indices showed the strongest intraday decline since the beginning of the year, after the aggravation of trade contradictions between the U.S. and China. On Tuesday, the market turned around by 180° reacting to the rhetoric softening on both sides. As a result, during the week the main indices managed to recover the losses incurred on Monday.