华尔街因政治担忧继续下跌;美联储会议是焦点

周二,华尔街指数走低,延续前日的跌势,因特朗普总统的议程继续对市场情绪施压,同时,市场正关注收益财报并等待美联储的最新评论。

 周三,美联储将结束今年第一次为期两天的会议并于19:00 GMT发布新闻发布会。普遍预期美联储将保持利率在0.50和0.75个百分点之间不变。

 按照芝加哥商业交易所集团追踪的联邦基金的结果,美联储1月升息的几率仅为4个百分点,因为市场参与者认为现在升息还太早。央行目前正在评估特朗普的经济措施和政策以为货币政策设定一个合适的路径。回顾12月份,美联储主席珍妮特·耶伦表示,美联储在2017年可能会有三次升息。

 在特朗普承诺进行税制改革,提高基建支出并稳固经济增长的背景下,市场在最近几个月一直在持续上涨。这些条件都适合更高的利率,但美联储当局表示任何变动都要完全符合经济统计数据。

  • 道琼斯工业平均指数:跌0.54个百分点/报19,864.09
  • 标普500指数:跌0.09个百分点/报2,278.87点
  • 纳斯达克综指:涨0.02个百分点/报5,614.79点

在经济新闻方面,咨商会周二公布了消费者信心指数,该指数录得50.3,预期55.0,前值54.6。

 今日,市场参与者将关注将于13:15 GTM公布的ADP非农就业变动,预期1月增加165,000个工作岗位。1月制造业采购经理人指数将于14:15 GMT公布,ISM制造业就业情况和采购经理人指数将于15分钟后公布。

 商品市场将密切关注能源信息署将于15:30 GMT公布的当周美国原油库存报告。经济学家预期截至1月27日当周原油库存增加330万桶,这可能会加大市场对美国原油产出增加的担忧。

chart

chart

chart

Weekly reviews

Wall Street extends losses amid political concerns; Fed meeting eye

Wall Street indexes ended lower on Tuesday, extending previous losses as President Trump’s agenda continued to weigh on market sentiment, while keeping an eye on earnings and anticipating to fresh remarks from the Federal Reserve.

On Wednesday, the Federal Reserve will close its first two-day policy meeting of the year and give a press conference at 19:00 GMT. The US regulator is widely expected to keep interest rates steady between 0.50 and 0.75 percent.

According to Fed funds tracked by CME Group, odds for a rate increase in January stand a poor 4 percent, as market players consider it’s too early for changes. The central bank is currently evaluating Trump’s economic measures and policies in order to define a suitable path for monetary policy. Back in December, Fed Chair Janet Yellen said the bank could raise interest rates as much as three times in 2017.

Markets have been growing consistently over the last few month on the back of Trump’s promises for tax reforms, higher construction spending and solid economic growth. Those conditions are perfect for higher interest rates, but the Fed authorities agreed that any adjustment should be entirely justified by economic statistics.

  • Dow Jones Industrial Average: -0.54 percent / 19,864.09 points

  • Standard & Poor’s 500: -0.09 percent / 2,278.87 points

  • Nasdaq Composite: +0.02 percent / 5,614.79 points

In economic news, the Conference Board released on Tuesday its Consumer Confidence Index, which currently stands at 50.3 percent against an estimated 55.0 and a previous reading of 54.6.

Today, market participants will be focusing on ADP nonfarm employment change at 13:15 GMT, with analysts forecasting an increase of 165,000 jobs in January. Manufacturing PMI for January will be available at 14:15 GMT, while ISM Manufacturing Employment and PMI will be released a bit fifteen minutes later.

Commodity markets will pay close attention to the Energy Information Administration weekly report on US crude inventories at 15:30 GMT. Economists expect a build of 3.3 million barrels in the week ended January 27, which could lead into bigger concerns over increasing US output.

chart 02.2017

chart 02.2017

chart 02.2017