09, 一月 2017

美元的修正已经结束?或者这根本就不是修正…

周五,美国股市以节前的水平结束了新年第一个交易周。纳斯达克再创历史新高,技术道琼斯收盘非常接近20,000点的心理水平。外汇市场,美元交投非常活跃,美元上涨然后下跌,然后再次上涨。一月第一个交易周的主要新闻事件似乎是美联储会议纪要的公布,对特朗普政府实施支持经济增长政策的预期,特朗普的微博评论以及当周最重要的统计数据-美国劳工市场数据。

按照我们的观点,非农就业报告有好有坏,在一定程度上较为模糊而且至少在开始时难住了许多分析师。对该数据的普遍市场观点形成于在其公布一段时间以后。该数据显示上月新增就业15.6万;该数字大幅低于预期的18万。然而,十一月就业数据的向上修正以及较十月的数据的差异暗示该数据可被视为乐观。有趣的是,在该数据刚公布的时候,分析师将其视为相当悲观,但随后改变了看法 – 按照同样的分析师的观点,非农就业报告是乐观的且表明美国劳工市场的强势。收入增长0.4%,收入增长通常被视为通胀前的迹象,预期收入增长0.3%

至于最重要的观点–市场对该数据的反应更为受限。尽管美元首付了日内的所有失地,但它仅是涨回交易开始时的水平。周五美元的交投向市场提出一个问题。现在的问题是,在美国就业数据和劳工市场走强之后,美元的修正是否已经结束。还有另一种可能是,市场没有看到足够强势的数据。从今日前半个交易时段来看 – 美元尚未恢复力量。我们看到部分欧洲货币上涨。EUR/USD正交投于1.0530附近。然而,从技术角度来看,美元指数现在交投于102点的重要心理水平的上方。我们已经注意到,在美元指数保持在102点心理水平的上方期间,市场有美元进一步上涨以及鹰派升息的预期的强烈迹象。

美国零售销售数据和生产者物价指数(PPI)将于周五公布。或许,即将到来的数据会阻止投资者大量做多美元。总之,本周将有大量的统计数据公布。另外,市场在等待唐纳德·特朗普周三的新闻发布会及其对全球贸易问题和中国关系的评论。

早些时候在亚洲,该地区的股市收盘上涨,因美元强势以及市场对美国经济的乐观情绪可能会导致亚洲商品的需求增加。美元相对亚洲货币走强,各个国家有不同的看法。一方面,这会增加亚洲商品的竞争力;另一方面,这可能会对承诺保护美国市场的新任总统唐纳德·特朗普造成负面影响。

09, January 2017

Is dollar correction over? Or it may not be a correction at all...

On Friday, US stock markets finished the first New Year trading week on preholiday levels. NASDAQ has updated historic highs as technological DOW closed the day very close to psychological 20,000 points. In the Forex market, US dollar traded very actively, greenback gained then lost then gained again. The major news events of January first trading week appeared to be Fed minutes publication, expectation on Trump administration to pursue pro-growth policy, Trump tweet comments, as well as the most important statistical data for the week - US labor market data.

In our opinion, Nonfarm payrolls report was mixed and some kind unclear and left many analysts stumped at least in the beginning. The common market opinion on the data was formed later some time after release. The data showed that the US economy created 156,000 jobs last month; the figures were significantly below analysts' forecasts of 180,000. However, the upward revision of November jobs number and a difference compared to October data indicates that the data can be considered as positive. Interestingly enough that at release time an analysts view was rather negative, but later changed - according to the same analysts, NFP was positive and pointed to a strong labor market in the US economy. Earnings growth, which is often seen as a pre inflation sign amounted to 0.4%, the forecast was 0.3%.

With regard to the most important opinion – the market reaction to the data was more than restrained. Though US currency recovered all daily losses it only gained to the levels where trading started. Friday US dollar trading left the question open. The question now, after the US employment data and labor market strength as earnings improvement remains intact, is whether US corrective phase is over. There is another possibility that the market doesn’t see the data strong enough. Judging by the first half of today trading session-, US dollar has not returned to its power. We see some European currency gains. Eur/Usd pair is trading around Eur 1.0530. However, from a technical point of view, US dollar index is now trading above the important psychological level of 102. We have already noted that while US dollar index is above 102 psychological level, there is a strong sign and market expectation for further US currency gain and hawkish rate-hikes.

US retail sales data and producer prices (PPI) will be published on Friday. Perhaps just upcoming data deter investors from massive US dollar longs. In general, the current week will be very rich in statistical publications. In addition, the markets expect Donald Trump press conference on Wednesday, and his comments on world trade issue and relations with China.

Earlier in Asia, the regional markets closed positive, amid strong US dollar and positive sentiment about the US economy, which could lead to a demand for goods from Asia. US dollar straight relative to Asian currencies, is viewed differently. On the one hand, it increases the competitiveness of Asian products; on the other it can cause a negative reaction of the newly elected US President, Donald Trump, who had promised to protect the American market.